Scones & Lemon Butter

One of the things that has come naturally to me is baking. It is one of the few girly things I can do well. When I was little I was allowed to bake and cook (as young as 5) without any assistance. I used to whip up things with no recipes and they were edible….not just edible…they were tasty.

Tomorrow I have to deal with the mother in law visiting. Urg. She hates me and after 12 years of effort I have officially given up trying to convince her I am not a horrible person. One thing I do like to do is serve freshly baked goods when she visits. Tomorrow will be my world famous (in my house anyway) scones and home made lemon butter. Neither of the recipes are originally mine – but using them repeatedly I no longer can remember where I found them. If you want to show off to your mother in law/a co worker you hate/someone who thinks they are better than you (or you know someone you love) these two recipes will have you looking like a domestic goddess in just 25 minutes

Lemon Butter

  • 1 cup White Sugar
  • 3 Eggs
  • Finely Grated Rind & Juice of 3 Lemons
  • 125g Butter (half a stick)
  1. In a microwave bowl whisk together eggs and sugar til smooth. Add in lemon juice, rind and butter.
  2. Put in the mircrowave for one minute at a time. Stirring each time. When the mixture coats the back of the spoon its ready. (It usually takes me 5 – 6 minutes)
  3. Store in the fridge in a tupperware container for up to two weeks. (Or pour into a sterilised jar). Serve cold (it will take a couple of hours to cool and it thickens when it gets cold)

Lemonade Scones

  • 3 cups Self Raising Flour
  • 1 cup of Thickened Cream
  • 1 cup of Lemonade (sprite for those who may be used to “traditional lemonade”)
  1. Put flour into a bowl and make a well. Pour in the lemonade and cream.
  2. Mix gently with a knife until it starts to come together.
  3. Turn onto a lightly floured bench and knead gently until it forms a ball.
  4. Roll it out and cut with a scone cutter or be like me and break off bits and roll into balls.
  5. Place each scone/ball on a tray (with baking paper) with each touching the other. I don’t know why but cooking them touching is the only way to make them rise/cook properly (for me anyway).
  6. Brush a little milk over the top and put into an oven which has been preheated to 220 degrees celcius for 10-12 minutes or until very lightly golden.
  7. Serve with jam, cream and lemon butter – best while hot.

And thats how you show off to your mother in law…or you know provide your children with yummy baked goods.

project:girl

 

Leave a Reply

