Rewind Part 4: DIY Beauty (improper cleansing takes just as long as cleansing properly)

Along the way with project:girl I started to get right into my beauty routines. I also started taking a more natural approach to skin care with my clay masks and cold cream & witch hazel routine. Along the way I discovered some recipes for cold cream, but as it was so easy to get across the road at my chemist and I understood most of the things on the label I thought why bother?

Then of course they ran out of stock and hubby was having to get it from the chemist near Miss 12’s ballet. Then they ran out. So it was down to making my own or ordering online. After looking up some of the ingredients, on the label,  online. Some of them are not so great. So instead I ordered some beeswax online as I had most of the other things at home already.

Batch #1

Ann’s Homemade Tropical Cold Cream

  • ½ cup coconut oil (olive oil or almond oil can be used)
  • 2 tablespoons grated beeswax (I can only find this in health food stores. I don’t know any bee keepers)
  • 5 tablespoons water
  • 1/8 teaspoon borax
  • ½ teaspoon almond extract

This went ok … except the only thing I had to put over the simmering water to melt the beeswax/oil was a giant salad bowl. I made a lot of mess and it was a lot of effort. Even with a double batch it didn’t last long as it just filled up one empty ponds cold cream container. As I use it all over my body as well as my face twice a day a tub doesn’t go far.

It smelt amazing. But I love the smell of coconut oil. But it was really, really emoilient (thick/oily) compared to the cold cream. It seemed like no matter how many times I scrubbed with a hot & wet face cloth it still seemed like there was so much on my face (even after using witch hazel afterwards). Then around day 4 I went through a massive skin purging phase – gross. I broke out more than I have in years. But after that my skin felt amazing. But as I still felt it was too much I decided to try another recipe once I ran out.

Batch #2

Home Made Cold Cream

  • 1/4 teaspoon borax
  • 1/4 cup distilled water
  • 1/2 cup mineral oil, or another oil that is liquid at room temperature (Almond is nice)
  • 1/2 ounce (by weight) grated beeswax

Ok this one was waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy easier as I could microwave them together. I made a double batch which filled up two old ponds cold cream containers. I also used 1/3 cup almond oil, 1/3 cup coconut oil & 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil. I also used some of my trilogy mist instead of just water (about 1/4 water, 1/4 mist). Also using an electric mixer which really whipped it up and made it nice and creamy and smooth. This batch ended up being a lot more like the ponds cold cream. But on the flip side I personally felt it wasn’t emollient enough after batch #1. One of the things I noticed is when I left it on for longer than a minute or two (once a week I like to do a cold cream mask where I leave it on for quite awhile) it started to dry out as the water evaporate which is apparently what ponds was meant to do.

So for batch #3 I think I will add a bit more coconut oil (which is a solid at room temp) a bit less almond/olive oil. I think I might also omit a bit of the water.

After realising how easy this is I am inspired to try other things. I go through so many bloom lip balm pots that I am going to try this recipe to see if I can recreate it and save myself some money (and avoid the unnecessary extra ingredients they seem to add). I also want to try making my own rose water witch hazel as I have been trialling this one from Thayers….but again so many extra ingredients that don’t seem necessary. The last thing I want to try is making my own hydrating mist. I was using this one by Trilogy which seems to be a mix of rose water/geranium water/lavender water but the 4th ingredient is a possible carcinogenic…. so I want to make my own. I know all these products when mass produced need all these extra preservatives ect. but if I can make them easily enough, and really I go through them too quickly to worry about preservatives, I might as well try to eliminate as much crap as I can. (speaking of which we have just made the switch to organic local fruit & vege and raw organic cows milk but that’s another catch up post!)

Last but not least I leave you with this gem. This advertisement is for cold cream and reminds us ladies that improper cleansing does take just as long as cleansing properly. Of course when your skin is covered in radioactive material you really want to make sure that cleansing is done properly.

Hands up who wants to be in advertising in the 50’s?

project:girl

Leave a Reply

